Karnataka Politics – 2 CMs in 1 week

India has seen a long political drama last 7-8days from Election Result of Karnataka Assembly and swear-in ceremony of 2 CMs in one week’s time.

BJP emerged as single largest party and Congress lost.

The BJP with 104 seats — eight short of a simple majority — emerged as the single largest party but the Congress, in the second position with 78 seats, moved quickly to extend support to JD(S) which, with 37 seats, staked claim to form the government.

Governor Vajubhai Vala invited BJP to form govt, gave Yeddyurappa 15 days to prove majority, Congress cried foul, went to Supreme Court.

Yeddyurappa was sworn-in as the chief minister on Thursday, announced his resignation saturday after failing to secure enough number to form the government.

JD(S) leader Kumaraswamy invited to form government in Karnataka, to take oath as CM.

In 2018 elections in Karnataka state, JD(S) was the third largest party but after a post-poll alliance with the Rahul Gandhi led Indian National Congress, H. D. Kumaraswamy was sworn in as the Chief Minister on 23 May 2018.

India has seen so much drama this week and so many allegations on each other that these kind of political issues can be codified by the Parliament, so that such un-essential issues should not erupt in future.

Leave a Comment

WP Dove